top of page

Ticora Davis, ESQ: Creator of "The Creators Law Firm" Talks Law, Family, & Faith

Ticora Davis, ESQ is a woman of divine excellence and have a passion for helping others. She created an opportunity for herself in order to spend time with her family, follow her dreams, and ultimately become a Girl Boss! Mrs. Davis took some time to chat with me about her law firm, family, and what keeps her going!   

1. How did you create the concept of "Creators Law Firm"? Before starting my Firm, I was searching for the ideal work situation -- one which allowed me to be creative, have flexible hours and be involved in my son's life in a way that was pleasing to me. I quickly realized this situation didn't exist and if I wanted it, I had to create it. Once I began to entertain the idea of opening my own law firm, I knew I needed a name that would immediately capture the essence and spirit in which I operate. I prayed and immediately received my answer -- "The Creator's Law Firm." The name has two meanings because I serve God, but I also serve creative entrepreneurs. It is truly divinely inspired and serves as a constant reminder to remain humble, serve my clients with my whole heart, and work in a manner that is honorable to Him.

2. What is your vision for the company and what type of clients do take on?

My vision for The Creator's Law Firm is to be the go-to intellectual property law firm for start ups and creative entrepreneurs in NC, SC and VA. I see the Firm growing to reflect a team of smart, savvy, and strong women attorneys advocating zealously for their clients. I have an especially soft spot for mama lawyers. In my profession it can be difficult for parents as they may face discrimination for choosing to start a family or be overlooked due to their gender. At my Firm, we will be a safe place for those parent attorneys by rewarding them for their hard work and not sanctioning them for their personal choices. My clients are infopreneurs, creatives, small business owners, wedding professionals, and start ups. I serve coaches, consultants, strategists, photographers, videographers, wedding planners, authors, content creators, artists, tech companies and any small business owner in need of my support. My sweet spot is protecting my clients unique ideas (i.e. intellectual property) by registering and enforcing their trademarks, and strategizing with them to create multiple streams of income from their intellectual property. Monetizing intellectual property is so much fun for both me and the client. I endeavor to form lifelong relationships with my clients and serve as their trusted legal advisor. 3. You're a wife, mom, and business owner...how do you do it all? What advice can you give other working women about balance? 

I don't do it all LOL. I have so much help. My husband is amazing and we work as a team to care for our son, our home, our financial goals and our careers. If I have to travel for work, speak at an event, or spend time with friends, he adjusts his schedule to support mine and I do the same for him. We also have the support of my son's caregiver who is absolutely amazing! I would advise that you not only work together with your partner to support your entrepreneurial goals, but set boundaries with your business. For example, I try really hard not to work past 7:00PM and not take my laptop in my bedroom. I don't always get this right, but I strive to adhere to this standard. 4. Have you had an "AHA" moment? If so, how did that moment change your perspective on life and your business?

When I opened my firm at the beginning of this year, I was NOT charging my worth. I was providing tons of value to clients for an unreasonably low cost. It wasn't until I begin to chat with other attorneys and ask them what they were charging did I realize I was undercharging and disrespecting myself and my business! The real AHA moment came when I conducted a trademark clearance search for a client, provided her with a search report and instead of her paying me to file the trademark and finish the process she decided to do it herself with the research and materials I provided her as a guide. That was the GREATEST gift any client has given me, because I realized, in that moment, I was providing my clients with a product of incredible value. I immediately adjusted my pricing model and legal packages to reflect my worth. Now, I attract my ideal clients and repel those who aren't meant for me. This has lifted an immense burden from my shoulders and shifted my mindset to one that manifests abundance. 5. What's next for you?

What's next is continuing to grow the Firm and launching a podcast highlighting amazing entrepreneurs and small business owners. My goal is edify others on their entrepreneurial journey, especially those of faith, who love God and their grind. 

6. How can people connect with you on social media?

You can find me EVERYWHERE at @CreatorsLawyer (Twitter, IG & FB).

-Dr. Sheria D. Rowe 

bottom of page